iPhone Faces Latest Software Update And Starting Streaming An Unexpected Notification

iPhone users who have downloaded an earlier version of Apple’s upcoming major software update, iOS 13, have started experiencing an unplanned notification on their devices - “Facebook Would Like to Use Bluetooth.”

The latest software update that is scheduled to launch this week, is featured with new privacy measures that aim to offer its users more control over what kinds of data they share with apps. Tech giants like Google and Facebook harvest information to drive better-targeted advertisements, a business version that Apple’s CEO Tim Cook has entitled as the “data industrial complex.”

For iPhone users who have downloaded the beta version of iOS 13, the new update has already caught on apps like Youtube and Facebook employing data-collection methods, which have probably been in place long ahead of the latest software update shedding focus on them.

One of these steps is to silently tap into the iPhone’s Bluetooth technology to track the physical location of users and their presence to other’s smartphones.

The social media giant Facebook tracks and gathers personal information on the user’s connection with one another, and also combines their data reached from Bluetooth with GPS data to make a conclusion about the relationship with users, said sources.

For example, Facebook could log the fact that one spent a few hours in close presence with someone else at a private place, and distinct that kind of relationship from other social media users, who one only come into contact with at an office building. Besides hoarding profile data to use for drafting advertisements, the social media giant could practically use the relationship-mapping information in its newly introduced dating service competing with Bumble and Tinder.

iPhone users have choices to turn off location services for specific apps - including Bluetooth, GPS, and cell towers - iOS 13 will offer a more detailed collapse of which apps access which location services. In order to use Facebook Dating App, iPhone users must agree to turn location services on.

Ahead of its latest software update, Facebook has published a blog post explaining its locating collecting practices. It noted that iPhone users can turn off location services to avert the app from using GPS or Bluetooth to track them.

However, even with switched off location services, the social media giant will track the location of its user  “using things like check-ins, events, and information about your internet connection.”

Sources have reached out to Facebook for further comment over the issue.